七月是紫外线安全宣传月

紫外线宣传月

夏天到了,阳光灿烂,是将七月定为紫外线安全意识月的黄金时间! 我们所有人都喜欢吸收那些温暖的夏日光线,但是每个人都必须记住要保护自己的皮肤和眼睛免受阳光的伤害。 

太阳安全总是在季节。 无论天气如何,全年保护您的皮肤免受阳光伤害非常重要。 为什么? 阳光照射会导致晒伤、皮肤老化(如皮肤斑点、皱纹或“皮革状皮肤”)、眼睛损伤和皮肤癌,这是所有癌症中最常见的。

如果您的年龄在20多岁或30多岁,那么您可能就不会花太多时间在思考您的眼睛健康了。 但这正是您应该采取行动维护自己的愿景的确切时间。 简单的良好健康习惯可以预防大多数视力问题。 视力丧失并不是变老的必然部分。 许多研究表明,运动和富含多种水果和蔬菜的饮食可以预防眼睛致盲,例如与年龄有关的黄斑变性和青光眼。 然而,明智的做法是等到视力出现问题才能开始照顾自己的健康。

太阳发出的辐射称为UV-A和UV-B射线。 两种类型都会损害您的眼睛和皮肤:

  • UV-B射线具有短波长,可以到达皮肤的外层
  • UV-A射线具有更长的波长,可以穿透皮肤的中层。

通过了解过多的日晒风险以及采取正确的预防措施来保护您和您的家人免受紫外线的伤害,每个人都可以安全地享受阳光和户外活动。

幸运的是,您可以做一些事情以最大程度地减少日晒所带来的风险:

  • 掩饰。 戴上帽子(最好是宽边帽)或其他遮荫保护服,可以部分保护您的皮肤免受紫外线辐射的有害影响。 戴墨镜(即使在多云时)。
  • 留在阴凉处。 在中午,太阳的眩光最为强烈。 在上午10点至下午4点之间保持阴凉处将进一步保护您的皮肤。 在阴天或冬季,阳光仍然会损害皮肤。 因此,重要的是一年四季都要受到保护。
  • 选择合适的防晒霜。 这是非常重要的。 美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)关于防晒霜标签的新法规建议您的防晒霜的防晒系数(SPF)至少为15,并且应同时防止紫外线A(UV-A)和紫外线B(UV-B) )射线。 根据全国皮肤癌预防委员会的说法,大多数人只使用推荐量防晒霜的25%至50%。 在阳光下时,每两个小时至少涂一盎司(掌心)的防晒霜很重要。 即使出汗或游泳,即使防晒霜是防水的,也应更频繁地使用它。
  • 注意眼睛疲劳。 如果您花大量时间在计算机上或盯着手机看,您可能会忘记眨眼-这会使您的眼睛疲劳。
  • 了解你的家族史。 某些眼疾可以遗传。 如果您的近亲患有黄斑变性,则有50%的机会患上这种疾病。
  • 请妥善保管隐形眼镜。 隐形眼镜的入睡,淋浴和游泳增加了您潜在的致盲性眼部感染的风险。
  • 与您的医疗保健提供者联系。 如果您在晒日光浴后遇到任何问题,请务必与您的医疗保健提供者交谈。

享受这个夏天的户外活动,切记要保护自己所处的眼睛和皮肤!

免责声明: 健康专家建议您在开始,更改或修改药物,生活方式或当前治疗方案之前先咨询医生。

參考資料

七月是紫外线安全月。 这里有 5 种保护皮肤的方法——圣约翰癌症研究所博客 (saintjohnscancer.org)

Seldomridge,DL(2019)。 现在就照顾好自己的眼睛,以便在以后的生活中拥有良好的视野。 从...获得 https://www.aao.org/eye-health/tips-prevention/healthy-lifestyle-now-good-vision-later

在阳光下保持安全的提示:从防晒霜到太阳镜 | 食品药品监督管理局

美国退伍军人事务部(2016)。 紫外线安全意识月。 从...获得 https://www.va.gov/QUALITYOFCARE/education/UV_Safety_Awareness_Month.asp

 

 

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

July is UV Safety Awareness Month

UV Awareness Month

Summer has arrived and with the sun shining brightly,  it’s a golden time to highlight July as UV Safety Awareness Month! We all love to take in those warm summer rays, but everyone must remember to protect their skin and eyes from the damaging effects of the sun. 

Sun safety is always in season. It’s important to protect your skin from sun damage throughout the year, no matter the weather. Why? Sun exposure can cause sunburn, skin aging (such as skin spots, wrinkles, or “leathery skin”), eye damage, and skin cancer, the most common of all cancers.

If you’re in your 20s or 30s, you probably don’t spend much time thinking about your eye health. But this is the exactly the time you should be acting to preserve your vision. Most vision problems are preventable with simple good-health habits. Vision loss is not an inevitable part of getting older. Many studies have shown that exercise and a diet rich in a variety of fruits and vegetables can protect against blinding eye diseases, such as age-related macular degeneration and glaucoma. However, it is not wise to wait until you’re having problems with your vision to start taking care of your health.

The sun emits radiation known as UV-A and UV-B rays. Both types can damage your eyes and skin:

  • UV-B rays have short wavelengths that reach the outer layer of your skin
  • UV-A rays have longer wavelengths that can penetrate the middle layer of your skin.

By learning the risks associated with too much sun exposure and taking the right precautions to protect you and your family from UV rays, everyone can enjoy the sun and outdoors safely.

Fortunately, there are things you can do to minimize the risk that comes with sun exposure:

  • Cover up. Wearing a hat (preferably wide-brimmed) or other shade-protective clothing can partly shield your skin from the harmful effects of UV ray exposure. Wear sunglasses (even when it’s cloudy).
  • Stay in the shade. The sun’s glare is most intense at midday. Staying in the shade between the hours of 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. will further protect your skin. The sun can still damage your skin on cloudy days or in the winter. For this reason, it is important to stay protected throughout the year.
  • Choose the right sunscreen. This is extremely important. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) new regulations for sunscreen labeling recommend that your sunscreen have a sun protection factor (SPF) of at least 15, and should protect against both Ultraviolet A (UV-A) and Ultraviolet B (UV-B) rays. According to the National Council on Skin Cancer Prevention, most people apply only 25-50 percent of the recommended amount of sunscreen. When out in the sun, it’s important that you apply at least one ounce (a palmful) of sunscreen every two hours. You should apply it more often if you are sweating or swimming, even if the sunscreen is waterproof.
  • Be aware of eye fatigue. If you spend a lot of time at the computer or staring at your phone, you may forget to blink — and that can tire out your eyes.
  • Know your family history. Certain eye diseases can be inherited. If you have a close relative with macular degeneration, you have a 50% chance of developing this condition.
  • Take proper care of contact lenses. Sleeping, showering and swimming in contact lenses increases your risk for a potentially blinding eye infection.
  • Talk to your healthcare provider. If you are having any problems after being in the sun, be sure to talk to your healthcare provider.

Enjoy the outdoors this summer and remember to protect the eyes and skin you’re in!

Disclaimer: Health experts suggest that you talk to your doctor before you start, change or modify your medications, lifestyle or current treatment regimen.

References

July is UV Safety Month. Here Are 5 Ways to Protect Your Skin – Saint John’s Cancer Institute Blog (saintjohnscancer.org)

Seldomridge, D.L. (2019). Take Care of Your Eyes Now for Good Vision Later in Life. Retrieved from https://www.aao.org/eye-health/tips-prevention/healthy-lifestyle-now-good-vision-later

Tips to Stay Safe in the Sun: From Sunscreen to Sunglasses | FDA

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (2016). UV Safety Awareness Month. Retrieved from https://www.va.gov/QUALITYOFCARE/education/UV_Safety_Awareness_Month.asp

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.