الشهر الوطني للتوعية بمرض الزهايمر

خلال شهر تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) ، يهدف الشهر الوطني للتوعية بمرض الزهايمر إلى جعل عامة الناس أكثر وعيًا بالمرض وحجمه بين سكان الولايات المتحدة ، بالإضافة إلى توفير خيارات رعاية محتملة جديدة للمتضررين. على الرغم من أن مرض الزهايمر يؤثر على ما يقرب من 1 من كل عائلتين في الولايات المتحدة ، لا يزال هناك قدر كبير من المعلومات حول مرض الزهايمر التي قد لا تكون على دراية بها.

رصيد الصورة: موقع برايت سبرينج للخدمات الصحية

  • مرض الزهايمر هو الشكل الأكثر شيوعًا للخرف ، مصطلح عام لفقدان الذاكرة والقدرات المعرفية الأخرى الخطيرة بما يكفي للتدخل في الحياة اليومية. يمثل مرض الزهايمر 60 إلى 80 بالمائة من حالات الخرف.
  • الزهايمر ليس جزءًا طبيعيًا من الشيخوخة. أكبر عامل خطر معروف هو زيادة العمر ، ومعظم المصابين بمرض الزهايمر يبلغون من العمر 65 عامًا أو أكبر. لكن مرض الزهايمر ليس مجرد مرض الشيخوخة. يعاني ما يقرب من 200,000 أمريكي دون سن 65 عامًا من مرض الزهايمر الأصغر سنًا (المعروف أيضًا باسم داء الزهايمر المبكر).
  • يتفاقم مرض الزهايمر بمرور الوقت. مرض الزهايمر هو مرض تقدمي ، حيث تتفاقم أعراض الخرف تدريجيًا على مدى عدد من السنوات. في مراحله المبكرة ، يكون فقدان الذاكرة خفيفًا ، ولكن في المرحلة المتأخرة من مرض الزهايمر ، يفقد الأفراد القدرة على إجراء محادثة والاستجابة لبيئتهم. مرض الزهايمر هو السبب الرئيسي السادس للوفاة في الولايات المتحدة. يعيش المصابون بمرض الزهايمر في المتوسط ​​ثماني سنوات بعد أن تصبح أعراضهم ملحوظة للآخرين ، لكن البقاء على قيد الحياة يمكن أن يتراوح من أربعة إلى 20 عامًا ، اعتمادًا على العمر والحالات الصحية الأخرى.
  • لا يوجد علاج حالي لمرض الزهايمر ، لكن العلاجات للأعراض متاحة والبحث مستمر. على الرغم من أن العلاجات الحالية لمرض الزهايمر لا يمكنها منع تقدم مرض الزهايمر ، إلا أنها يمكن أن تبطئ بشكل مؤقت تفاقم أعراض الخرف وتحسن نوعية الحياة لمن يعانون من مرض الزهايمر ومقدمي الرعاية لهم. اليوم ، هناك جهود عالمية جارية لإيجاد طرق أفضل لعلاج المرض وتأخير ظهوره ومنع تطوره.

ربطت جمعية الزهايمر مؤخرًا حقائق وأرقام عن مرض الزهايمر لعام 2018 ، والتي تكشف عن الإحصاءات التالية حول مرض الزهايمر في الولايات المتحدة:

  • كل 65 ثانية يصاب شخص في الولايات المتحدة بمرض الزهايمر
  • تم تشخيص إصابة 5.7 مليون أمريكي بمرض الزهايمر
  • بحلول عام 2050 ، سيصاب ما يقدر بنحو 14 مليون أمريكي بمرض الزهايمر
  • مرض الزهايمر هو السبب الرئيسي السادس للوفاة في الولايات المتحدة
  • يموت 1 من كل 3 من كبار السن بسبب مرض الزهايمر أو أحد أشكال الخرف ذات الصلة
  • في عام 2018 ، قدم مقدمو الرعاية غير مدفوعة الأجر 18.4 مليار ساعة من الرعاية ، تقدر قيمتها بأكثر من 232 مليار دولار
  • تبلغ التكلفة التقديرية للرعاية مدى الحياة لشخص مصاب بالخرف 341,840،XNUMX دولارًا
  • يمكن أن يوفر التشخيص المبكر لمرض الزهايمر البلاد 7.9 تريليون دولار

رصيد الصورة: موقع برايت سبرينج للخدمات الصحية

معلومات:

https://www.unicityhealthcare.com/national-alzheimers-disease-awareness-month-educating-the-public-on-the-alzheimers-epidemic-in-the-u-s/

اقرأ أكثر:https://www.alz.org/about/awareness_campaigns

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

National Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness Month

During November, National Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness month aims at making the general public more aware of the disease and the scale of it among the U.S. population, as well as bring new light potential care options for those affected. Although Alzheimer’s affects approximately 1 in every 2 families in the U.S., there’s still quite a bit of information about Alzheimer’s that you might not be aware of.

Picture credit: Bright Spring Health Services Website

  • Alzheimer’s is the most common form of dementia, a general term for memory loss and other cognitive abilities serious enough to interfere with daily life. Alzheimer’s disease accounts for 60 to 80 percent of dementia cases.
  • Alzheimer’s is not a normal part of aging. The greatest known risk factor is increasing age, and the majority of people with Alzheimer’s are 65 and older. But Alzheimer’s is not just a disease of old age. Approximately 200,000 Americans under the age of 65 have younger-onset Alzheimer’s disease (also known as early-onset Alzheimer’s).
  • Alzheimer’s worsens over time. Alzheimer’s is a progressive disease, where dementia symptoms gradually worsen over a number of years. In its early stages, memory loss is mild, but with late-stage Alzheimer’s, individuals lose the ability to carry on a conversation and respond to their environment. Alzheimer’s is the sixth leading cause of death in the United States. Those with Alzheimer’s live an average of eight years after their symptoms become noticeable to others, but survival can range from four to 20 years, depending on age and other health conditions.
  • Alzheimer’s has no current cure, but treatments for symptoms are available and research continues. Although current Alzheimer’s treatments cannot stop Alzheimer’s from progressing, they can temporarily slow the worsening of dementia symptoms and improve quality of life for those with Alzheimer’s and their caregivers. Today, there is a worldwide effort under way to find better ways to treat the disease, delay its onset, and prevent it from developing.

The Alzheimer’s Association recently related their 2018 Alzheimer’s disease Facts and Figures, which reveal the following statistics about Alzheimer’s in the United States:

  • Every 65 seconds someone in the United States develops Alzheimer’s disease
  • 5.7 million Americans have been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s
  • By 2050, an estimated 14 million Americans will have Alzheimer’s
  • Alzheimer’s disease is the 6th leading cause of death in the United States
  • 1 in 3 seniors dies with Alzheimer’s or a related form of dementia
  • In 2018, unpaid caregivers provided 18.4 billion hours of care, valued at over $232 billion
  • The estimated lifetime cost of care for someone living with dementia is $341,840
  • Early diagnosis of Alzheimer’s could potentially save the country $7.9 trillion

Picture credit: Bright Spring Health Services Website

Information:

https://www.unicityhealthcare.com/national-alzheimers-disease-awareness-month-educating-the-public-on-the-alzheimers-epidemic-in-the-u-s/

Read more:https://www.alz.org/about/awareness_campaigns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.